Recent Illustrations

In early January, I broke my dominant hand– my drawing hand. It was a big setback initially, but I ended up exploring other ways of working and it didn’t end up being quite so bad. I drew with my left hand a lot and played around with collages and other experiments. Here are some of the first ones I attempted:

IMG_5630

IMG_5708

I ended up doing a couple of pieces for Louisville Magazine using my left hand and some digital manipulation- I’m pretty proud of how these turned out.

handsgavelsmall.jpg

This was a piece that was initially submitted for Jack Welch’s “Just Sayin” column, but we ended up reworking as the image below: I did end up drawing the lady with my right hand as it was starting to heal, but it hurt quite a bit:

justice1

This one was for Mary Welp’s Dine In column. I drew the oranges and scallop shells really big with my left hand and then shrunk them down and played with them in photoshop.

citrusscallopssmall

One thought on “Recent Illustrations

Leave a Reply

